Beginning Again

It’s a new year. A new start. A clean slate.

The problem with January is that it actually comes with just as much expectation as December does. But December has the jewel that is Christmas; a festive climax which all of us anticipate. Feasts and fairy lights. Presents and parties. Eating and enjoying.

But January, oh January, every year you arrive with the anticlimax to end all anticlimaxes. And this year is no exception.

It’s January 3rd 2016. Dark clouds have hidden the sun from us all day. There have been flood warnings across the country and my living room has returned to it’s non-decked, spartan-like, empty, soulless, baron magnolia wasteland.

OK, so my living room is actually lovely. But there is a sudden emptiness that taking down the Christmas tree brings. This void is always amplified by the added stress of impending credit card bills, the return to work and normality, and the pang of guilt over your absence from the gym.

For me, the expectation that January brings is really all about one thing. It’s time to face the scales. I weighed myself two days ago. Horror. And this is what has prompted the birth of this blog.

This time last year, my weight was the lowest it has ever been:

14 stone 3 lbs

I had a much more physically demanding job which was obviously doing wonders for my ongoing weight-loss journey.

And if I’m being completely honest, my head was much more in the game than it currently is. I’ve slipped. My eating habits right now are really bad. Whilst I am a member of a gym, I haven’t been for a long time.

I understand that December and the gym don’t always go together, but if we are all entirely honest with ourselves, it’s an excuse. I could have made time for exercise last month, but I chose to let it go.

So, January, here you are and here I am. I am in desperate need of motivation. Just look at the pictures below; exactly one year apart and just over one and a half stone of weight gained.

My plan is in writing this blog, I will be forced to take action and will use it as a tool to hold myself accountable for my eating habits and exercise regime.

I don’t know if it’s going to work. I don’t know how often I will post. I don’t know what the content will even be. But now it exists. It’s worth a shot.

Well, let’s go then; all in…

STATS:

WEIGHT: 15 STONE 11.5 LBS

FAT: 30.6%

WATER: 50.6%

BMI: 31.6

WAIST: 34 INCHES

CHEST: 46 INCHES

BELLY: 49 INCHES (EEK!)

Time to start again.

 

 

Leave a Reply

